[a n t i j a m s e c t]

---------------------------

18 January 2002

In my dream last night the sky was red. I thought it was the end of the world. There were no definite clouds, but more a blanket of distant crimson fog that covered all above. There were patches that were darker, almost black. I could see storms coming and I knew that I couldn't stay here. The city was empty. People had known this was coming and fled underground, but I had missed the signs. I had been distracted when the safety precautions were shared. So now I was there, sitting at the edge of my city with my bare feet in the water. My white dress stained wine red at the hem and above my knees from where the water seeped up and soaked the silks. My nipples hard against the heavy wind and my arms littered with goosebumps from the chill. The sun had gone away.

I looked at the horizon awhile. Pondered what my last thoughts would be, and how I would die here.

You tapped my shoulder and I started. Looked up to see you standing there with a smile. You held a small toy boat in your big palm. It was beautiful. I reached up to touch the shiny hull. Cherry wood stained and waxed. I could see the small grain under the color and shine. The sails were double my hand size in height, and made of a soft burlap canvas. The ropes holding them were tiny, but looked sturdy and correct. I asked you if I could hold it, and you smiled again. Handed me the small toy, sitting down next to me.

I told you I had missed the signs, and that I was preparing to die.

You didn't talk, but I could hear your thoughts. And in your thoughts you told me not to worry. That you'd built the boat strong for me, and that I wasn't going to die at all. You leaned over and laughed a little close to my cheek. I could hear your laugh echo off the walls of my empty city. Your lips gently kissed my temple, and I could feel my breath falter. My eyes slip closed for an instant.

I opened them and found myself on the toy boat, far out from the shore. You were sitting at the bow reading a book, your legs crossed and peaking out from shorts. I leaned over the side of the ship and looked down at the red waters lapping at the side of the hull.

You threw me an apple.

[back] [archive] [forth]

---------------------------

. | note | book | survey | profile