[a n t i j a m s e c t]

---------------------------

23 August 2002

i said lack of desire lack of libido lack of excitement lack of zest, zest for living, remember the pill i take every morning, and how it cuts off the edges, gives itself plenty of play in the equations. which leaves me in a blissed middleground where nothing's wrong but
i guess i'll never be very excited about the possibilities, either.
and it's not numb, i can be happy and sad, and i can appreciate things, and see how this and that is beautiful, but i don't fall in love with much of anything anymore
and that's the thing: i don't fall in love anymore and maybe won't for years and i'm looking for a reason why
i cried a lot more when i functioned on my own chemicals
in my new twentysomething world where i learned to be myself, by myself, all of the time learned to be myself by myself and became a crying expert, separated from everything i had wanted

it was a violent necessity and my world was so narrow, pathetically selfabsorbed and an embarrassment to my own ideals
but i got stronger and by now i'm a sensitive machine of self sufficiency, noble enough to be respected but not exactly taking myself or anyone by storm
not exactly a thrill a minute not exactly passionate not nearly passionate, passionate like sixteen and seventeen teenage hormones, not anything but cold science, cold biology not really optimistic or pessimistic, but just wondering, and wondering what am i to blame?

[back] [archive] [forth]

---------------------------

. | note | book | survey | profile